Latest ASUU Strike News Updates Online – August 2017

Hello, if this post was helpful, Kindly use 4 seconds to LIKE or Share it.


The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has once again threaten to go on an indefinite strike if their demand which was agreed in 2009 aren’t met by the federal government in coming weeks. However, all deliberations seem not to be going well as the most recent news report that UNILAG, UI, LASU, other ASSU branches have voted for indefinite strike.

Below are some current news updates from the web which you may find helpful;  

August 14th 2017
Breaking: ASUU begins indefinite strike.

Rising from a National Executive Council, NEC meeting of the Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, held in University of Abuja at the weekend, ASUU National President Comrade Biodun Ogunyemi has declared a nationwide strike to commence today. – Vanguard

August 13th 2017
The meeting of ASUU NEC is currently ongoing at the union’s secretariat in Abuja to deliberate on the outcome of the referendum conducted by the branches.

Feelers from the NEC meeting indicate that several of the branches including the University of Lagos (UNILAG), University of Ibadan (UI) and Lagos State University (LASU) voted for an indefinite industrial action. One of ASUU’s zonal coordinators told our correspondent that his zone voted overwhelmingly for strike and that the outcome of the referendum conducted on Friday will be collated to enable the union take a position – The SUN

August 11th 2017

Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) may begin a two-week strike if a referendum it is conducting among its members across public universities in Nigeria enjoys the support of majority of its members. – Vanguard

List of Some Universities Under Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU)
The universities listed below are some of the institutions that will take part in the ASUU strike;

University of University of Benin
Lagos State University
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
Bayero University Kano
Delta State University
Ekiti State University
Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
Federal University of Technology, Owerri
Federal University of Technology, Akure
Federal University of Technology, MINNA
Imo State University
Obafemi Awolowo University
Olabisi Onabanjo University
University of Calabar
University of Lagos
University of Nigeria, Nsukka
University of Ibadan
University of Abuja
University of Port-Harcourt
Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

No comments:

Post a Comment

I'll like to know what you think.

Leave a COMMENT below.

Readers should feel free to also provide solutions.

Offensive & Spam Comments will NOT be Approved.


Also Read

Google+ Followers